Skip to main content

Driver's Education

ID : 17433   
« back to classes page
This course is designed for the beginning driver and consists of 28 hours of classroom instruction, six hours of driving with the instructor, and twelve hours of observation. During this state approved course, students will master Kansas road laws and safe defensive driving techniques.
 
The instructor will arrange the driving and observation time after the class begins, and the entire 18 hours of driving and observation time will be outside the classroom instruction hours and may extend beyond the course completion date.The driving is scheduled on weekends during the school year, and in the summer, it is weekdays and weekends.  To be eligible to take this class, the student must be 14 years of age or older.  Upon completion of the test, a form will be given to students to take to the State of Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles to obtain an Instructional Permit.  Parents of minors need to attend the first night of class.

Successful completion of the course requirements will result in a Certificate of Completion from the state. This Certificate may lead to the license the student is eligible to receive without further testing. However, the state does reserve the right to re-test. A Defensive Driving component is included in the course, and upon completion, a certificate will be issued that may be used for insurance discounts.

The student is required to come to the Community Education Building (CEB) at least 2 weeks prior to the class starting date to fill out the state required paperwork.  If the student does not complete the state required paperwork at this time, it could delay the student receiving their permit and delay the certificate of completion. A parent/guardian need to come to the first night of class.
.

Class Details

10 Sessions
Weekly - Tue, Thu

Location
Nursing Building

Instructor
James Hathaway 

 

Notice

Please read:  The student is required to come to the Community Education Building (CEB) at least 2 weeks prior to the class starting date to fill out the state required paperwork. If the student does not complete the state required paperwork at this time, it could delay the student receiving their permit and delay the certificate of completion. A parent/guardian need to come to the first night of class.

Tuition: 

$325.00


Registration Closes On
Tuesday, April 3, 2018 @ 12:00 AM

Schedule Information

Date(s) Class Days Times Location Instructor(s)
4/3/2018 - 5/3/2018 Weekly - Tue, Thu 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM Kansas City, Nursing Building  Map, Room: Room 2708 James Hathaway 

Other Class Offerings

Driver’s Education
ID: 17089

02/01/18 - 03/06/18
Weekly - Thu, Tue
10 sessions.

Location
Nursing Building

Instructor
James Hathaway

Call 913-288-7660 to register
Send to Friend »
Driver’s Education
ID: 17434

05/08/18 - 06/07/18
Weekly - Tue, Thu
10 sessions.

Location
Nursing Building

Instructor
James Hathaway